There’s an ‘app’ for that–and everything else

In today’s ‘on-the-go’ society, some people either don’t have time (or flat-out refuse) to sit down and watch the news or read a newspaper. But don’t worry, there’s an app for that. Guys who have to work when the ‘big game’ is on feel like they need to check the score as if their life depended on it. But don’t worry, there’s an app for that. Trying to plan a big trip, but don’t have time to sit down and look at cruise information? Don’t worry, there’s an app for that.

There’s an app for this, that, the ‘watchamacallit’ and the ‘thingamabobs’–just about anything you can imagine has an application for the iPhone, Droid and (just about) every other cell phone. As annoying as I think this ‘app craze’ is right now, I can’t deny its effectiveness. It’s a great marketing strategy. If you can get people to dish out their cash (even if it’s only a couple of dollars) for information they could, essentially, look at for free, who can blame them? People are easily swayed with convenience; there’s no reason not to capitalize on that. The best way to generate interest and create a need for a product is to make it easily accessible, and apps seem to be the most convenient way to accomplish that task in this technology age.

I don’t have any apps on my phone. I don’t even have internet access. And, personally, I’m okay with that. But there a lot of people who would practically have a meltdown not being able to check their Facebook (on their phone) every few minutes. Obsessive? Yes. But it’s the obsessions and need for technology and immediate information that drive both the creation and use of apps. So if you want something–anything–there’s an app for it floating around somewhere. Go find it.

2 thoughts on “There’s an ‘app’ for that–and everything else

  1. I agree that there is an app for everything now days. I know many of my friends would have a panic attack if they were not able to check their phones for ‘important’ updates, whether it be facebook, a sports game, or even the weather. I agree with you about the ‘app craze’. It is quite annoying. I have a friend, when ever I ask him a question he’ll reply, ‘there is an app for that’. At times it does come in handy, like when we are out and want a certain type of food. He will just pull out his iPhone and use a certain app to look up restaurants.
    Like you, I do not have apps on my phone or internet access and I do just fine without it. If I did, I would only get the free apps because I am cheap and could not bring myself to buy an app that costs a dollar.

  2. It is crazy to see how much technology has moved into everyone’s daily life. The more apps they come out with the more people feel like they need to download them to make sure they keep up with what’s going on everywhere else. The world has transformed into a very impatient society and technology companies are taking advantage of that with the continues creation of apps.

Leave a Reply

